The Before Columbus Foundation awards Mary Winegarden’s “The Translator’s Sister” an American Book Award

See the Mayapple Press page for Mary Winegarden’s The Translator’s Sister hereThe Before Columbus Foundation awards Mary Winegarden's
The Before Columbus Foundation announces the
Winners of the Thirty-Third Annual
Ceremonies, Sunday, October 7, 2012, 2:00 – 5:00 p.m.

Oakland, CA—The Before Columbus Foundation announces the Winners of the Thirty-Third Annual AMERICAN BOOK AWARDS. The 2012 American Book Award winners will be formally recognized on Sunday, October 7th from 2:00-5:00 p.m. in the Maud Fife Room located in Wheeler Hall on the campus of the University of California at Berkeley. This event is open to the public.

The American Book Awards were created to provide recognition for outstanding literary achievement from the entire spectrum of America’s diverse literary community. The purpose of the awards is to recognize literary excellence without limitations or restrictions. There are no categories, no nominees, and therefore no losers. The award winners range from well-known and established writers to under-recognized authors and first works. There are no quotas for diversity, the winners list simply reflects it as a natural process. The Before Columbus Foundation views American culture as inclusive and has always considered the term “multicultural” to be not a description of various categories, groups, or “special interests,” but rather as the definition of all of American literature. The Awards are not bestowed by an industry organization, but rather are a writers’ award given by other writers.

The 2012 American Book Award Winners are:

Annia Ciezadlo, Day of Honey: A Memoir of Food, Love, and War (Free Press)
Arlene Kim, What Have You Done to Our Ears to Make Us Hear Echoes? (Milkweed Editions)
Ed Bok Lee, Whorled (Coffee House Press)
Adilifu Nama, Super Black: American Pop Culture and Black Superheroes (University of Texas Press)
Rob Nixon, Slow Violence and the Environmentalism of the Poor (Harvard University Press)
Shann Ray, American Masculine (Graywolf Press)
Alice Rearden, translator, Ann Fienup-Riordan, editor, Qaluyaarmiuni Nunamtenek Qanemciput:
Our Nelson Island Stories (University of Washington Press)
Touré, Who’s Afraid of Post-Blackness? What It Means to Be Black Now (Free Press)
Amy Waldman, The Submission (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
Mary Winegarden, The Translator’s Sister (Mayapple Press)
Kevin Young, Ardency: A Chronicle of the Amistad Rebels (Knopf)
Lifetime Achievement Award: Eugene B. Redmond

The Raymond House • 655 -13th Street • Suite 302 • Oakland, California 94612 • (510) 268-9775